Quench at the Cardiff Student Media Awards 2014: The Results

The 17th annual Cardiff Student Media Awards kicked off last weekend, celebrating the contributions of Cardiff Students to gair rhydd, Quench, CUTV and Xpress Radio. CSM has a long and illustrious history, and has been the springboard for a myriad of successful careers in media, publishing, marketing and public relations.

The standard of entries this year was one of the highest it’s ever been, and we’ve been extremely privileged to display their work over the past two semesters. The people you see below are those who took home awards for their contributions to Quench, and judges included staff at BBC Wales and the Cardiff School of Journalism Media and Cultural Studies, as well as the editors of this magazine.

Quench contributor of the year (judged by Michael O’Connell-Davidson & Sophie Lodge):

Adam Bown (Winner)

Quench Special Recognition Award (Judged by Michael O’Connell-Davidson & Sophie Lodge):

Amy Pay (Winner)

Best Editor (Judged by Sara Hadwin, course director MA International Journalism @ Cardiff School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies):

Amy Pay (Winner)

Sum Sze Tam

Jimmy Dunne 

Hannah Embleton-Smith

Best Designer (Judged by Luke Slade, Marketing and Design Artworker at Vydex Corporation, Creative Director GR & Quench 2012/13):

Amy Pay (Winner)

Tom Connick

Emilia Ignaciuk

Best Short Form Writer (Judged by Tomos Lewis, BBC Wales):

Emrhys Pickup (Winner)

Jimmy Dunne

Amy Pay

Best Long Form Writer (Judged by Jane Bentley, Lecturer MA Magazine Journalism, Cardiff School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies):

Liam McNeilly (Winner)

Jacob Dirnhuber

Helen Griffiths

People’s Choice Quench Section of the Year (Result of Cardiff University Student poll):

Food and Drink (Edited by Emilia Ignaciuk and Dylan Jenkins, Winner)

Culture (Edited by Amy Pay, Sum Sze Tam)

Music (Edited by Tom Connick, Hannah Embleton-Smith, Jimmy Dunne)


Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *