Cardiff Student Election Results 2015 !


After a long week of campaigning Cardiff’s Student Elections are now over and students have chosen their new full time and part time Student Officers. The elections results began at 4pm in Y Plas, and Xpress Radio brought you live election coverage from our Head of Speech Jamie Williams and presenter Madhura Kanade.

In case you missed the election results here’s a brief round up of the winners and some of our highlights from the afternoon…

Results kicked off with some Candidate Awards which broadcast some of the fun behind the election campaigns. Awards included the Steven Spielberg award for best campaign video, as well as a separate category this year for best music video.

The election results quickly followed..

NUS WALES Delegates : Leah Hibbs, Jennifer Owen, Ahmed Laajam.

Student Senate Chair : Bryn Griffiths

Black and Ethnic Minorities Officer : Raviina Vijayanandam

Ethical and Environmental Officer : Daniel Tucker

International Student’s Officer : Grace Piddington

LGBT+ Open : Jack Meldrum

LGBT+ Women’s : Ellie Utley

Students with Disabilities : Diana Isajeva

Welsh Language : Steffan Jones

Women’s Officer: Rachael Melhuish

VP Postgraduate Students : Katie Kelly

VP Sports and AU President : Sam Parsons

VP Education : Sophie Timbers

VP Heath Park Campus : Katey Beggan

VP Societies : Hannah Sterritt

VP Welfare : Kate Delaney

SU President : Claire Blakeway

We hope you enjoyed Xpress Radio’s coverage of Election Results , let us know what you thought @xpressradio on Twitter and don’t forget to download our App for future live broadcasts !

Now on Xpress

  • THE INDIE HOUR.Friday, 21:00 -22:00

Coming Up

  • COME THROUGH AND CHILL.Friday, 22:00-00:00

Text STUDIO followed by your message to 82010.

Tweet @xpressradio.